Vision-net alternative: a six-country registry API with company-level Ireland coverage

TL;DR

Vision-net is Ireland's CRO-document and credit-report portal: company and director searches, scanned filed documents, judgments and credit reports, priced per report (as published on vision-net.ie: EUR2.10 per company report, EUR2.10 per scanned document, opening account balance from EUR250 plus VAT). Prometiam's Irish data, from the CRO, is company-level only: status, registered address, Eircode, NACE code, and incorporation and dissolution dates — no Irish officers, judgments, credit reports or scanned filings. What Prometiam adds: the same registry shape for Spain, France, the UK, Poland and Norway under one key, published prices from a free tier, monitoring for Ireland via webhooks, and sanctions screening in beta. For an Ireland-only, document-level need, Vision-net is the right tool.

Pick Vision-net if

You need the scanned CRO filing itself, an Irish credit report, a judgment search, or a filing update ahead of a daily-batch refresh. Vision-net sells all four from a top-up account; Prometiam has none of them.

Pick Prometiam if

Your counterparties are not only in Ireland, you want published self-serve pricing (free, then EUR9.99, EUR29.99 or EUR99.99 a month) instead of a per-report account balance, you also need UK beneficial ownership from the PSC register, and you want to watch a company by webhook rather than read a weekly email.

Scope limits on the Prometiam side

Ireland is company-level only, with no officers or beneficial ownership yet. Corporate insolvency notices cover nine other markets and do not include Ireland. Monitoring covers Spain, Ireland and Poland; sanctions screening is beta, and PEP screening is beta and Spain only.

Read the full comparison · Get a free API key

Beyond the registry record

Two derived signals on the Prometiam side, neither of them a rating: registry_compliance, which marks companies still on the register that stopped meeting their filing duties (Spain, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Norway), and public procurement — Spanish contract awards by supplier, buyer, tax id, CPV code and date, plus a beta score for the contracting body itself in Spain and France. Both are dated facts with their source, on the published price and in the free tier; a score is a prompt to look, never a finding of wrongdoing. Public-buyer risk · Procurement screening

At a glance

PrometiamVision-net
CountriesES, FR, GB, IE, PL, NO — six official registriesIreland and the UK; also advertises searches "across the globe"
DataIreland (800K+ companies): status, address, Eircode, NACE code, incorporation and dissolution dates. Officers for ES/FR/GB/NO; corporate events for ES/FR/GBCompany and director reports, scanned filed documents, credit reports, judgments, AML/KYC identity checks
UpdatesDaily for Ireland"Real-time" CRO filing access, per vision-net.ie
Entry price€0 for 1,000 calls/month, no cardNo setup cost; €2.10 per company report, opening account balance from €250 plus VAT
Paid plans€9.99 · €29.99 · €99.99 /month, cancel any timePay-per-report credit (€2.10 per report or document), or an annual usage plan — price on request
ContractNone, cancel any timeNone for pay-per-report; annual usage plans on request
MonitoringPOST /monitor webhooks — Spain, Ireland, PolandFree weekly Business Barometer email (Irish insolvencies, judgments, start-ups); no per-company webhook found
Sanctions screeningSame key, betaNot listed as a separate product; AML/KYC compliance is a separate service
Beneficial ownershipUK PSC register only; not yet for Ireland or elsewhereNot stated on the pages read
Data residencyEU (Frankfurt)Not stated on the pages read

Frequently asked questions

How much does Vision-net cost?
As published on vision-net.ie (FAQ, read 15 September 2026): no setup cost, then €2.10 per company report and €2.10 per scanned document, debited from an account with an opening balance from €250 plus VAT (the minimum top-up is also €250 plus VAT). Vision-net's registration page also mentions company-wide annual usage plans; their price is on request.
Does Prometiam cover Irish directors or beneficial owners like Vision-net?
No. Prometiam's Irish data, from the CRO, is company-level: status, registered address, Eircode, NACE code, and incorporation and dissolution dates. Irish officers and beneficial ownership are not served. Vision-net's company and director searches, and its identity-verification product, cover ground Prometiam does not.
Does Prometiam sell judgments or credit reports for Ireland?
No, for any country. Prometiam has no judgments product and no credit reports. Vision-net publishes both, for Ireland and the UK.
Does Prometiam track Irish insolvencies like Vision-net's Business Barometer?
No. Prometiam's insolvency index covers nine markets — France, Germany, the UK, Austria, Switzerland, Norway, Finland, the US and the Netherlands — corporate only, and Ireland is not one of them. Vision-net's free weekly Business Barometer email covers Irish insolvencies, liquidators and new business start-ups.
Can I use Prometiam for the UK and Vision-net for Ireland?
Yes — a common split. Prometiam's UK data includes PSC beneficial ownership and officers behind the same key used for Spain, France, Poland and Norway; Vision-net stays the deeper Irish-specific source for documents, judgments and credit reports.